Homemade Pasta!!

My first shot at making homemade pasta and I have to admit I cheated a bit…

I used a Kitchen Aid stand Mixer to make the dough and also shape the pasta.

Excuse #1: I have a new stand mixer
Excuse #2: I want to be able to make homemade pasta easily enough that I’ll want to do it often
Excuse #3: I have a new stand mixer

Anyways, it came out pretty well. Although the process is easy, it is definitely a learning curve. I think the taste was good but the consistency wasn’t quite there. It may be that I overdid flour, then compensated w/ water, and thus had a smaller ratio of eggs.

Or it could be due to the drafts coming into my kitchen (seriously I’ve read this could be an issue).

OR, it could be because the machine doesn’t quite produce “handmade” results.

OR, I undercooked or overcooked the pasta…I don’t know but I’m not totally used to cooking bucatini or fresh pasta. It tasted good but didn’t have the authentic al dente bite that I’m used to:

Anyways, I used a pretty simple recipe:

-3 1/2 cups flour
– 4 large eggs
– 1 tbs water

I’ll prob try this recipe again to see what I did or didn’t do wrong but I’m intrigued to try different dough recipes til I find what works the best.

Anyways, it was really fun and exciting. I can’t wait to try it again.

Feel free to leave any tips!

Leave a Reply

