One of my favorite weekend treats: Bloody Marys!

P255P257P259

Now that the weekend is over, let me provide you with another reason to beg the weekend was here again: Bloody Marys

Bloody Marys are a staple for me during college football gamedays and are a great way to get into the tailgating spirit.

I definitely have my father to thank for my appreciation of this fine morning beverage. He had found a great Bloody Mary mix that truly didn’t need much added to make it great. Unfortunately, good mixes are expensive and hard to find (or go out of business), so I wanted to come up with a recipe that would work anywhere/anytime.

Some of the beauty of the Bloody Mary is that it is fully customizable to your tastes, so using the ingredients below, feel free to tweak to your liking. Note: I estimated on the measurements, but these should give you a good jumping off point.

Place all of the ingredients below
In a large cocktail shaker with ice (a pitcher with a vigorous stirring spoon could do the trick on bigger batches). Use a good Bloody Mary Edger for the rim of the glass (edger should have salt, spices, and maybe even some citrus). Also, be sure to garnish with some fun items on a skewer. My faves are: Garlic Olives, Jalapeño Olives, chunks of salami (if you have thin slices, then fold them up). You can also go with the traditional celery, cocktail onions or a cocktail shrimp, or even a crab claw/leg. The key is to have fun with it and make it look good.

This recipe makes about 2 drinks once poured over ice.

  • 3/4 cup tomato juice (such as campbell’s)
  • 1/2 cup vodka (no need to use top shelf here–I tend to use Svedka because it’s pretty good for its price)
  • 1 Tbsp of Olive Juice
  • 1 clove of minced or crushed garlic
  • 1 tsp. prepared horseradish
  • juice from 1 lime (could substitute lemon too but I much prefer lime). The citrus is key tying together the flavors
  • 1 tsp. Worcesterchire sauce (about 10 drops). Add more if it doesn’t taste deep enough and it’s overly plain tomato tasting.
  • 1 tsp. Tabasco (about 6-10 drops). Add more for a med-hot spiced Bloody
  • 1/2 tsp. Lawry’s Seasoned Pepper (couple pinches)
  • 1/2 tsp salt (couple pinches)
  • a few grinds of fresh ground pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. Celery Salt

Once it is all shaken and you are happy with the taste, pour in to your rimmed glass over ice and garnishes, then top with a squeeze of citrus and an ounce of beer–use whatever is open (Mexican beers work well, but so do any lighter colored beers). Give a light stir

That’s it! Cheers to weekends and starting off mornings right and I hope you enjoy my easy to replicate Bloody Mary!

One response to “One of my favorite weekend treats: Bloody Marys!

  1. At this stage of my life, I am glad to get credit for anything, so "Thanks!". But, WOW, what a site you are developing here. The photos, the writing, the recipes — most impressive. I didn’t actually go on this site until today, and now I am officially "following" it. So, I will look forward to your next PSFood post, whenever it is. And, I will probably even use your recipe for Bloody Mary mix when I next run out of mix. Makes me look forward to next football season! — certainly much more so than the prospect of what Tommy Rees or Brian Kelly may do for/to the Irish.

Leave a Reply

